Ko Seung-hwan (26, Gwangju Metropolitan Government) won the men’s 200 meters at the National Athletics Championships with a personal best and the third-best time in Korean track and field history.

Ko Seung-hwan won the men’s 200-meter final in 20.49 seconds at the 78th National Athletics Championships at the Jeongseon Sports Complex in Gangwon Province on Saturday.

His time was a personal best of 20.51 seconds, 0.02 seconds better than the previous record of 20.02 set in June 2022.

At the same time, Ko Seung-hwan moved from joint third to sole possession of third place on South Korea’s all-time men’s 200-meter list.

The Korean record for the men’s 200 meters is 20.40 seconds, set by Park Tae-gun in June 2018.

Jang Jae-geun of Jincheon Athletic Village holds the second-best Korean record with 20.41 seconds, set in September 1985.

Go Seung-hwan was tied for third place with Kim Kook-young (Gwangju Metropolitan Government) with a personal best of 20.51, but his time of 20.49 moved him into sole possession of third place in Korea.

“Thanks to the support and comfort of those around me, I recovered from my injury and broke my personal record after two years,” said Ko Seung-hwan through the Korean Athletics Federation. “My goal is to become the first Korean to break 19 seconds in the men’s 200 meters.”

Ko Seung-hwan was seen praying before the race, explaining, “I am not religious, but I always pray with my hands together before the start of the race so that I can finish the race without injury.”

In the final, Jang Min-ho (Kookmin University Continuing Education Center) finished second in 21.02 seconds and Oh Seung-woo (Seoul Metropolitan Government) finished third in 21.12 seconds.

High school junior Namadi Joeljin (Gimpo Science and Technology High School), who competed against the seniors of the unemployment team, finished fourth in 21.15 seconds. 바카라사이트순위

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *